Govt of India Compulsorily Retires 15 Senior Officers of the Indian Revenue Service (C &CE) with Immediate Effect

In exercise of the powers conferred by Clause (j) of Rule 56 of the Fundamental Rules, the President of India has retired 15 officers of Indian Revenue Service (IRS) (C&CE) in public interest with immediate effect on completing 50 years of age. These Officers are of the rank of Principal Commissioner, Commissioner, Addl. Commissioner, Dy. Commissioner and Assistant Commissioner etc.

All these 15 Officers will be paid a sum equivalent to the pay and allowances for a period of three months calculated at the same rate at reach they are supposed to be withdrawing then (Pay & Allowances) immediately before their retirement.

A separate Order in each case to that effect has been issued today by the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC), Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance, Government of India.

The details of these Officers are as follows:

1.  Shri Anup Kumar Srivastava, IRS (C&CE 1984 Batch), presently posted as Principal ADG, Delhi Zonal Unit at DG(Audit), New Delhi.

2.  Shri Atul Dikshit, Commissioner, IRS (C&CE 1988 Batch), presently under suspension.

3.  Shri Sansar Chand, Commissioner, IRS (C&CE, 1986 Batch), presently posted as Commissioner(AR), CESTAT, Kolkata.

4. Shri Gaddala Sree Harsha, Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:1990 Batch), presently posted as Commissioner, DGPM, Chennai.

5.  Shri Vinay Brij Singh, Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:1995 Batch), presently under suspension.

6.  Shri Ashok Ratilal Mahida, Additional Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:1990 Batch), presently posted at DG (Systems), Kolkata.

7.  Shri Virendra Kuma Agarwal, Additional Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:1990 Batch), posted at Nagpur GST Zone.

8. Shri Amresh Jain, Deputy Commissioner (IRS:C&CE:1992 Batch), posted in Delhi GST Zone.

9.  Shri Nalin Kumar, Joint Commissioner, IRS(C&CE:2005 Batch), presently under suspension.

10. Shri Surendra Singh Pabana, Assistant Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:2014 Batch), presently under suspension.

11. Shri Surendra Singh Bisht, IRS (C&CE: 2014 Batch), presently posted as Assistant Commissioner at Bhubaneshwar GST Zone.

12. Shri Vinod Kumar Sanga, Assistant Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:2014 Batch), presently posted in Mumbai Customs Zone-III.

13. Shri Raju Sekar, Additional Commissioner, IRS (C&CE:1992 Batch), presently posted in Vizag GST Zone.

14. Ashok Kumar Aswal, Deputy Commissioner, IRS(C&CE:2003 Batch), presently posted in Directorate of Logistics, New Delhi.

15. Mohd Altaf, IRS (C&CE:2009 Batch), presently posted as Assistant Commissioner (AR), Allahabad.

Srivastava headed the Association and Advised the Jaitley against curtailing powers of Central Government Officers was critical of GST launch removed

According to the fresh list of retired officers, principal commissioner Anup Srivastava (1984-batch IRS) has been retired on account of several Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) cases against him for criminal conspiracy, illegal gratification, demanding and accepting bribe.

Sources said Srivastava was also arrested in 2012, and subsequently suspended from the service. A penalty of Rs 20 lakh had been imposed on him for non-vacation of a government flat. He has a total of seven cases cited by the government.

Srivastava is also the president of the IRS (C&CE) Association, and had made some critical remarks on the way the goods and services tax (GST) had been implemented by the Modi government.

In 2017, the IRS body had said that some of the decisions taken by the GST Council, which was headed by then finance minister Arun Jaitley, were taken under pressure from the states. According to reports, the association’s protest had led to a warning from the finance ministry against criticising the government.

Subsequently, Srivastava sought the intervention of the PM to allay some of the concerns of the officers on the implementation of the GST.

“The decision seems to be one-sided in favour of states, weakening the sovereign function of the Centre regarding levy and collection of taxes… GST in this form may not bring the desired goals of better tax compliance, more revenues, ease of business and reduction in inflation and an instant spurt in economic growth,” he had written.